'Saturday Night Live' to air live to all, not taped for some

AP

Print Article

In this March 4, 2017 photo provided by NBC, Colin Jost and Michael Che, right, appear during Weekend Update segment of "Saturday Night Live" in New York. "Saturday Night Live" will broadcast live simultaneously across the U.S. for its final four shows of the season, NBC announced Thursday, March 16. Until now, viewers in the Mountain and Pacific time zones have seen the show not as it aired “live from New York,” but on tape delay. The new live-for-all policy will apply to episodes telecast April 15, May 6, 13 and 20. (Will Heath/NBC via AP)

NEW YORK (AP) — After 42 seasons, "Saturday Night Live" is trying something new: airing live to everybody.

For the first time, "SNL" will broadcast live simultaneously across the U.S. for its final four shows of the season, NBC announced Thursday. Until now, viewers in the Mountain and Pacific time zones have seen the show not as it aired "live from New York," but on tape delay.

The new live-for-all policy will apply to episodes telecast April 15, May 6, May 13 and May 20. Each show will air at 11:30 p.m. (Eastern), 10:30 p.m. (Central), 9:30 p.m. (Mountain) and 8:30 p.m. (Pacific). In the Mountain and Pacific time zones, the show will repeat at 11:30 p.m.

Hosts for these editions will be, respectively, Jimmy Fallon, Chris Pine, Melissa McCarthy and, for the season finale, Dwayne Johnson.

Print Article

Read More Entertainment

Fonda and Tomlin savor senioritis as 'Grace and Frankie'

AP

March 29, 2017 at 6:42 am | NEW YORK (AP) — The message of "Grace and Frankie" is: There's life after 70. And also your own brand of vibrator, according to this Netflix comedy's just-released new season. Jane Fonda and ...

Comments

Read More

Fallon's 'Tonight' heads to Florida with Vin Diesel, Pitbull

AP

March 29, 2017 at 10:06 am | LOS ANGELES (AP) — Jimmy Fallon's guests will include Vin Diesel, Shaquille O'Neal and Pitbull when his NBC late-night show airs from Florida next week. The "Tonight Show" host's four-night stand...

Comments

Read More

N.W.A., Vin Scully to be preserved by Library of Congress

AP

March 29, 2017 at 9:19 am | WASHINGTON (AP) — First it became the basis for an Oscar-nominated movie. Now, "Straight Outta Compton" — the groundbreaking album from rap group N.W.A. and a one-time flashpoint in the nation's cult...

Comments

Read More

Human rights activist Nadia Murad writing memoir

AP

March 29, 2017 at 7:27 am | NEW YORK (AP) — Nadia Murad, the human rights activist who survived the murderous reign of ISIS, is working on a book. Tim Duggan Books, a Penguin Random House imprint, told The Associated Press ...

Comments

Read More

X